I Got The Music in Me (Feel funky, feel good, WHOOO!)

Every morning I wake with a song running quietly in the back of my brain. A double-edged sword to be sure. Guns N Roses can rarely be termed “quiet”.

SIDEBAR: My brain runs random thoughts and memories through my consciousness continuously. From a sunny boyhood day in 1974 buying penny candy with my friends while on another bike-riding adventure through Troy Manor Trails to me and Danny Brewer walking home from second grade through the snow and joking about being Keith and Danny Partridge to driving in Evansville, Indiana with my college crush Mark Davis and talking about this “gay cancer thing” I never know exactly where I’ll end-up next…oh “End-up” triggers the stripper bar in Tales of the City where Michael/Mouse stripped in a contest. The flood of memories is constant and I don’t know how normal it is on a scale of 1 to 10 where 1 is memories triggered only on purpose and 10 is James Whale who had no control and had to be medicated. I’m probably a solid 6.

Behold my bold segue: ANYWAY!

This morning’s tune was Antarctica by Midnight Oil from their 1990 album Blue Sky Mining. I love this record. I saw these guys in concert in Indianapolis when they toured the States in support of this album. Right before Desert Storm.

SIDEBAR: I have never met an Aussie I didn’t like. Midnight Oil is an Australian band. Both statements are true.

ANYWAY!

I have Blue Sky Mining on my iPod so I put it on when I got on the bus to work this morning. And it made me wonder how many, which and if other people have whole albums they listen to from start to finish. Feel FREE to comment, add your own lists and to steal my recommendations. The more brave among you may even try some you’ve never heard of before! IN GERMAN! Yes, two of these are in German and at least one is a misogynistic romp through vaginal ownership. Gird your loins!

My partial list, partial because something is sure to crowd out parts of my list with a memory of the Autumnal winds of Indiana, includes:

Blue Sky Mining, Midnight Oil 1990

Nunsexmonkrock, Nina Hagen 1982

 

Einzelhaft, Falco 1982

Bloodsugarsexmagic, Red Hot Chili Peppers 1991

Lonesome Jubilee, John Mellencamp 1987

Uh-Huh, John Mellencamp 1983

Any Smiths Compilation, The Smiths 1984-87

Kick, INXS 1987

Shabooh Shoobah, INXS 1982

A Thousand Suns, Linkin Park 2010

Trapped in the Body of a White Girl, Julie Brown 1987

The Real Thing, Faith No More 1989

Kissing To Be Clever, Culture Club 1982

Colour By Numbers, Culture Club 1983

She’s So Unusual, Cyndi Lauper 1983

True Colors, Cyndi Lauper 1986

Sisters of Avalon, Cyndi Lauper 1996

Dream of the Blue Turtles, Sting 1985

Turtleneck and Chain, The Lonely Island 2011

Incredibad, The Lonely Island 2009

Synchronicity, The Police 1983

Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band, The Beatles 1967

Space Ghost’s Musical Bar-B-Que, Space Ghost et al 1997

Hotel California, The Eagles 1976

The Point of No Return, Kansas 1977

As Nasty As They Wanna Be, 2 Live Crew 1989

The Innocents, Erasure 1988

The Greatest Hits- It’s My Life, Shirley Bassey 2000

I Robot, Alan Parson’s Project 1977

Pyramid, Alan Parson’s Project 1978

Sign o’ the Times, Prince 1987

The B-52s (yellow album), The B-52s 1979

Bouncing Off The Satellites, The B-52s 1986

21, Adele 2011

Back To Black, Amy Winehouse 2006

Alright, Still, Lily Allen 2006

It’s Not Me, It’s You, Lily Allen 2009

Scissor Sisters, Scissor Sisters 2004

About keithpatrickdunn

Keith grew-up in a one parent home as an only child. Funny thing is he has two brothers and three step-brothers. View all posts by keithpatrickdunn

Leave a Reply

